Wednesday, 28 September 2016

Shimon Peres has died.

Shimon Peres has died.

One of the builders of the State of Israel who served alongside David Ben Gurion, Peres contributed greatly to the national security and developing infrastructure of the Jewish State.

Prime Minister and President, Peres was a controversial figure in his search for a lasting peace, including the peace agreements with Jordan and Egypt.

His exploits for Israel are legendary. He order Israeli naval special ops teams to the French port of Cherbourg to covertly take over and sail 5 new naval frigates that Israel had paid for but which Charles de Gaulle refused to deliver.
Peres pressed the Israeli Cabinet to allow the raid on Entebbe when Palestinian terrorists, under the protection of Uganda's Idi Amin's army were holding Jewish hostages. Israel Prime Minister Bibi Netanyahu's brother, Yoni, who led the raid was killed.
Pere was also the architect of the secret Israeli nuclear program. 

On his watch, Israel made serious concessions and painful sacrifices to the Palestinians which have been received with hatred, violence and terror, and a total rejection of ever accepting a two-state solution alongside the Jewish State of Israel.

Peres will be buried in a state funeral at Mount Herzl in Jerusalem on Friday.

Overseas dignitaries attending will be President Obama, former president Bill Clinton, Vice-President Joe Biden, Secretary of State, John Kerry leading the US delegation.
French President, Francois Hollande, will head the French delegation.
Tony Blair, former British Prime Minister, who was closely associated with Peres will accompany Prince Charles.
Others attending will be;

Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands.
German Premiere, Angela Merkel.
German President, Joachim Gauck.
Canadian Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau.
Romanian President, Klaus Iohannis.
Mexican President, Enrique Pena Nieto.
Togo President, Faure Gnassingbe.

Australian Prime Minister, Malcolm Turnbull.
Australian Governor-General, Peter Cosgrove.
Singapore's Deputy-Prime Minister, Teo Chee Hean.
Austrian Foreign Minister, Sebastian Kurtz.
Portuguese Foreign Minister, Augusto Santos Silva.

Swiss President, Johann Schneider-Ammann,

No comments:

Post a Comment